My Favorite Cauliflower Crust Pizza: Low Carb, Gluten-free, and Delicious!

I went low carb nearly a year ago.  I guess the best explanation of why, is that I went on a research binge about the relationship between the carbohydrate and sugar-rich diet we enjoy in Western culture, and cancer.  The big C.  Both my parents died of cancer.  What I read was enough to convince me.  I was going to take sugars and refined carbohydrates out of my diet.  Cancer cells require glucose and sugars to survive.  I was going to starve those cancer cells before they could take up a home.

Now, please understand that this is a remarkable feat for a part Sicilian American.  I was raised on bread and pasta.  For most of my life I could not imagine existence without them.  Then there was college, and pizza, and beer.  Why would anyone give up pizza, bread, pasta, and beer?  Once you actually do, you will understand.  I no longer need or crave these things.  I feel well, satisfied, satiated, and like I could skip eating for 2 days if I needed to.  But, that’s another blog post.

So, I’ll get off my soap box and share the best ever gluten-free, low carb pizza crust.  We had it tonight, and it was amazing as it always is. I tend to add a little extra cheese and a second egg to the crust.  It never fails.  Enjoy!

The Iron You: Cauliflower Crust Cheese Pizza

Update: It came to me the other day that I could use this recipe to make sopes.  I will be experimenting with cauliflower crust sopes (instead of masa) for Super Bowl.  I miss my local taco truck since I’ve gone grain-free and low-carb.  Maybe this will fill the void!  If they turn out well, look for a new post!

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Cauliflower Pizza Crust – just add toppings!

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Cauliflower Crust Pizza: Low Carb, Gluten-free, and Delicious!

  1. Pingback: Low Carb Sopes – Gluten Free and Grain Free | happilybackward

Leave a Reply

